Faculty Assembly


The higher education Faculty of the College of Education is a community of scholars dedicated to the concept that policy making within a college be decentralized to the faculty level. The intent is that policy in the College of Education shall be made in a collegial fashion by the Dean and the Faculty Assembly working cooperatively.

The Assembly is committed to the following governing principles:

  1. Academic freedom. [1]
  2. Open democratic communication and participation.
  3. Sustaining and creating opportunities for faculty voice in all aspects of the College of Education governance.
  4. Commitment to a professional ethic that supports multiple/ alternative perspectives.

All full-time members of the higher education faculty of the College who hold tenure or all members who have tenure-earning positions, are voting members except those on leave of absence, sabbatical, or medical leave. This includes chairs, associate deans and deans who hold tenured or tenure-earning positions.

Faculty Assembly Steering Committee Motion Matrix Form

Faculty Assembly Steering Committee
S. Ramnarace (OASS), L. Finnegan (VP, Special Education), S. Darling (President, Special Education), K. Emelianchik-Key, (Counselor Ed), J. Scott (Special Education), C. Imgrund (Communication Scienced and Disorders), M. Mountford (Archivist, Ed Leadership & Research Methodology), and M. Lieberman, (Ed Leadership & Research Methodology). Not pictured: Ira Bogotch (Secretary, Ed Leadership & Research Methodology).

2024-2025 COE Governance Meeting Schedule*

Faculty Assembly (FA) Meetings -10 a.m. - 12 p.m.

Attended by all COE tenured & tenure-earning faculty, Chairs, and Deans

  • Friday, Sept. 6, 2024
  • Friday, Nov. 1, 2024
  • Friday, Jan. 24, 2025
  • Friday, April 11, 2025

Faculty Assembly Steering Committee Representatives

Faculty Assembly Steering Committee (FASC) Dates-10 a.m. - 12 p.m.

Attended by FA (Elected) Executive committee and Department FA representatives

  • Friday, Aug. 23, 2024
  • Friday, Oct. 25, 2024
  • Friday, Jan. 10, 2025
  • Friday, March 21, 2025

Faculty Assembly Executive Committee (FAEC)

  • Meredith Mountford, President
  • Andres Ramirez Agudelo, Vice President
  • Kelly Emelianchik-Key, Secretary
  • Ira Bogotch, Archivist

Faculty Assembly Executive Committee (FAEC)- 12 p.m. -1 p.m.

Attended by COE FA (Elected President, Vice President, Secretary, and Archivist) Executive committee, Dean

The Faculty Assembly Executive Committee will meet with Dean Stephen Silverman directly following the FASC meetings.

*All meetings will take place virtually, via Zoom

College of Education Senators to the University Faculty Senate (UFS): 2024-2025

  • Andres Ramirez Agudelo (1st of 2-year term)
  • Sharon Darling (1st of 2-year term)
  • Charles Dukes (2nd of 2-year term)
  • Lisa Finnegan (1st of 2-year term)
  • Katie Miller (2nd of 2-year term)
  • Dilys Schoorman (1st of 2-year term)
  • Meredith Mountford (President of COE Faculty Assembly)